The Weaknesses of an English Major

As an English major, I have several quirks that others may scoff at. I would rather write a paper than take a test, my homework is often put off so I can finish that last chapter in the book I just bought on a whim, and I once spent a night reading To Kill a Mockingbird for the 5th time while pretending I was paying attention to the boys playing Halo. So if you haven’t figured out that I’m a nerd already, take my word for it. I’m a big-time nerd. I’ve recently found yet another thing to be a nerd about.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Obssessed.

As an English major and a girl, I’m basically programmed to love this YouTube series. It’s a modern-day adaptation of the beloved Pride & Prejudice story, all told through Lizzie Bennet’s video blog. Lizzie herself is perfect in her imperfections–she judges too quickly, loves mocking others, and can sometime lack direction, all while being charming, family-loving, and intelligent young woman. The rest of the characters are well-adapted, too–Jane, the always sweet older sister, party-animal Lydia, an overly-concerned mother, Charlotte as the ever practical best friend, a friendly always-smiling Bingley, and Darcy.

Oh, Darcy.

He’s formal. He’s aloof. He says all the wrong things, but through his awkwardness trying his best to win over the charming Elizabeth Bennet. And he’s attractive. Oh, he’s attractive. (Let’s just say I wouldn’t mind running into him after he took a dive into his pond, if you know what I mean.)

I love the adaptation to the modern world as well. Pemberly is the digital communication company Darcy runs. Collins is a web developer who proposes an offer of employment to Charlotte, who accepts after Lizzie refuses to give up grad school. And Kitty is Lydia’s cat. (Because apparently Kitty is too flat of a character to incorporate into this fresh, modern-day adaptation. Poor Kitty.)

And how cool that they take advantage of technology! Almost each character on the show has a Twitter account, so in between episodes, you can still get a feel for what’s going on by checking their Twitter feeds. It makes the characters feel so true to life, and that maybe, somewhere in San Francisco, there really is a Lizzie Bennet slowly warming up to a hopeful Darcy. Maybe the best part of all of this?

I know it’s going to end in a Happily-Ever-After.

2 thoughts on “The Weaknesses of an English Major

Leave a comment