Confessions of an Ambivert

At work, all of my coworkers started taking the Meyer Briggs personality test and comparing answers. You may have heard of this test. They split you into 16 personality types based on sensation, intuition, feeling, and thinking and how you see the world according to these factors.
Today everyone was talking about how they were dogs or dolphins or other crazy things like that, so I decided I, too, wanted to be a part of this crazy personality circus. So I went online to take a free mini-test to figure out what personality type I am.
I ended up with an extrovert, sensing, feeling, and judging personality, which means I am:
An Elephant!
This apparently means I am loyal to people I love, I stick to my beliefs, and if I have some sort of internal conflict or am uncertain about something, I feel like doing this:
Most questions were fairly easy to answer, but I always got stuck about the introvert/extrovert questions. I’ve always considered myself an extrovert since I love being around people, but the fact I blew off all other obligations to stay at home and read one night last week will show you that I really appreciate my alone time. But the tonight when I was at home by myself for 4 hours without seeing a single living soul, I almost went crazy and attacked my roommate with hugs and questions about her day.
So what does this mean for me? I thought. Am I just some anomaly doomed to walk through the purgatory between extrovert and introvert for all of my days? 
 
Some tried to console me by classifying me as an ambivert–someone with characteristics of both extroverts and introverts, someone who needs their alone time but also feeds off the energy of others. Thinking about this for a while made a lot of sense, but as I kept thinking about it, I realized something.
Why am I trying to classify myself anyway?
The last year, I’ve loved delving into different aspects of my personality to learn more about myself. I did the Color Personality Test (Blue!) and I learned all about my Love Languages (quality time and words of affirmation). But after thinking about this one, I started wondering why I felt this need to stick myself in one of sixteen boxes. Sure, it helped me become more conscious of why I do certain things and what I can do to keep myself happy, but maybe it’s ok to not define myself as just one thing. Maybe I’m more complicated than a simple color or personality type. And maybe it’s ok that I’m perfectly content staying at home sometimes and ready to go out and socialize the heck out of my ward other nights. It’s all a part of the great experience of being Rylee Carling.
But if it’s ok with you, I’m probably going to keep the elephant thing.
Leave a Reply

