Days 8 & 9

So, Day 8 of this fantastic 30 Days of Blogging was about my short term goals for this month. Quite frankly, I didn’t really feel like writing about them. Don’t get me wrong–I have goals. I just feel like that’s kind of a personal thing to be asking about…just know that I have some goals about reading more, getting ready for school to start at the end of the month, and being generally happier. I feel like those are good thing to aspire to 🙂

Day 9–Something You’ve Been Proud of in the Last Few Days
This happy little event happened more than a few days ago, but I’m going to share it anyway, because I was super stoked about life that day!
As I may have mentioned earlier, I work at the International Admissions Office at BYU. It’s a happy little place. Due to some recent staffing changes, however, there is no one in the office that can help answer phone calls from Spanish speaking countries.
That is, there wasn’t…until that fateful day.
Someone called in from Mexico and asked for someone that spoke Spanish. I told him that there wasn’t anyone there, but he was rather insistent. I’ve never been super confident in my Spanish speaking abilities, but that day I figured–what the heck? I just got back from speaking nothing but Spanish for 6 weeks–I’ll give it a shot!
He spoke nice and slow for me, giving me a chance to really understand what he was saying and giving me a second or two to gather my thoughts before responding, but after helping him with his question about the application, he thanked me for clearing up that matter and said Adios.
I was absolutely giddy with excitement afterwards–I had never actually been able to apply my Spanish skills to work before, but I had totally helped this Mexican in Spanish! It was way rewarding, and I found myself extremely grateful for the opportunity I had to go to Spain for Spring term…apparently going to Europe paid off after all 🙂

Leave a comment